New scam targets car sellers online

Print

Fri, 21 May 2010 5:57p.m.

As soon as Mandy Hall listed her Mitsubishi on a TradeMe classified she got a bite

As soon as Mandy Hall listed her Mitsubishi on a TradeMe classified she got a bite

By Simon Shepherd

People selling their cars online are being warned about a new scam that appears to be based in Malaysia.

As soon as the car is listed you get an offer that is too good to refuse, but you should.

As soon as Mandy Hall listed her Mitsubishi on a TradeMe classified she got a bite.

“The next day I got a text from a random number with weird country code asking me to email them I did,” explains Ms Hall.

So started the negotiations with a "Kelly Rose" from Malaysia who said she was "presently on business trip and could not come over to check it out". But "I am please with the price".

The price was $5000 and "Kelly Rose" wanted to ship the car to Malaysia.

She said she had put the money plus $2000 in shipping fees into the secure internet payment service Paypal.

“From the beginning I was a little bit suspicious,” says Ms Hall. “I thought why would someone from Malaysia want to buy a car in New Zealand.”

This is where the scam becomes clear.

Mandy received an email supposedly from Paypal saying it has the money for her car, plus the extra shipping fees.

But it would not release it until she paid $2000 of shipping fees up front via Western Union money transfer.

TradeMe says if Ms Hall had done that, the money would be gone.

“If you are sending money over Western Union to someone that you don’t know as a result of an internet auction site, it is highly likely that it is a scam and you should not do it,” says Chris Budget of TradeMe.

However, the scammers are persistent - even threatening to report you to the authorities if you don't pay up.

“I called Paypal. They said no that’s not us and said could I send it to their fraud department, so I did that,” explains Ms Hall.

3 News tried to ring "Kelly Rose" in Malaysia. Unsurprisingly, no one answered.

Meanwhile, Ms Hall has re-listed her car. But this time, local buyers only please.

3 News

Become a fan of 3 News on Facebook and on Twitter.

Post a Comment

Before commenting, please take the time to read our moderation guide


(Won't be published)



Comments

24 Mar 2012 01:07a.m.

emi wrote:

same kind of email from ookelvinwales@gmail.com :

Am satisfied with the details and your honesty. Am from United Kingdom and i will contact the shipping company that will come for pick up after payment is clear so the vehicle can be pick up anywhere suitable for you. Am a marine officer presently on sea. what is the mode of payment ? As you know i will not be able to get to my bank to wire money and i don't do internet banking moreover have been burnt before but am a verified (pay pal) member and i can pay into your pay pal account or transfer fund into your banks account but it depends on the bank you use and surely the vehicle will be picked up after payment is clear into your account. I really want to proceed.

Please Advice.

Thanks

Kelvin

20 Mar 2012 05:41p.m.

Eve wrote:

Have been approached by ookelvinwales@gmail.com again, this time he is in the marines, and he would like the car to be shipped to UK. And he mentioned that he has an issue with the shipping company they want there payment via western union and he pay me the price of the car plus the shipping fee via paypal. By then, I have gotten thoroughly suspicious. The shipping company turns out to have the similar address to one that is listed on a fake lottery scam.

20 Mar 2012 01:40p.m.

William wrote:

I've had exactly the same emails - now it is abolosa35@gmail.com - and a quick name change to Grant Edwards... 2nd Lieutenant!! Grant Edwards <abolaso35@gmail.com> wrote: Hi, I must admit that I am very very much interested in purchasing this car from you. I am presently out of NZ due to work, I am in the NZ Army who's currently in Afghanistan for the Provincial Reconstruction Team (PRT) . Now what I propose to you is this; Due to the fact that I am so far away right now I will gladly transfer you the amount via PayPal and pay the transfer charges as well, What I would then also do is arrange for a private courier company to pick up from your address once you have received the payment into your Paypal account. The reason I choose paypal is that it is a reliable and secure way of making a payment online so works out better for both parties. So in order to enable me to proceed with the payment could you please provide me with the following information: Your PayPal e-Mail Address : Mobile Number : Price is ok Cheers. Grant Edwards, 2nd Lieutenant. Provincial Reconstruction Team. New Zealand Defence Force.

07 Mar 2012 01:35p.m.

Abe wrote:

Yup, just had the same experience as Danielle, to a TM add. Had exactly the same email, word for word. Damn scammers

07 Mar 2012 08:51a.m.

Danielle wrote:

Dammit- I got so excited that someone wanted to buy this car. I've just received an notification for abolaso33@gmail.com via Paypal to say that he's transfered the money- Here's his email to me:
"I must admit that I am very very much interested in purchasing this car from you. I am presently out of NZ due to work, I am in the NZ Army who's currently in Afghanistan for the Provincial Reconstruction Team (PRT) . Now what I propose to you is this; Due to the fact that I am so far away right now I will gladly transfer you the amount via PayPal and pay the transfer charges as well, What I would then also do is arrange for a private courier company to pick up from your address once you have received the payment into your Paypal account. The reason I choose paypal is that it is a reliable and secure way of making a payment online so works out better for both parties."
So clearly this is a scam.
DO I NEED TO WORRY ABOUT ANYTHING FURTHER??? CAN HE ACCESS ANY OF MY DETAILS- HE HAS MY EMAIL AND MOBILE NUMBER!?

03 Mar 2012 09:37p.m.

Reebo wrote:

We have had the same scam email from a Bret Quinby with email address: abolaso33@gmail.com. Says he is in the NZ Army based in Afghanastan. Please beware

03 Mar 2012 09:32p.m.

Tim wrote:

just got the same thing from Bret Quinby, using the email abolaso33@gmail.com he also pulled a story about being in the army in afgahnastan which is pretty cruel. Luckily i had the brains to search, I'd hate to think how many people have been sucked in.

02 Mar 2012 03:25p.m.

Gemma wrote:

I posted my ad on Gumtree yesterday..first person to reply - come guy buying the car for his Uncle in Malaysia. I googled, found this and told him I wont be selling to anyone overseas. Just recieved another email telling me he has transferred funds. If he continues to persist i will just be sending him to this link!!

Most recent email:

Hello, I just completed the payment via PayPal,a total of $9,200 was sent, $8,400 for the merchandise and PayPal surcharges and the extra $800 for my shipper's charges and for the western union fees, which you will be sending to the address below via western union.

Name: Navin Kumar Goppu
Address: 45, Jalan Teluk Pulai
City: Klang
State: Selangor
Zip Code: 41100
Country: Malaysia.

My shipper would be coming around to your area to have the merchandise picked up once you have sent the shipping charges fee to them,as i need you to let me know what time you want them to come and where (your address & phone # you can be reached on)

I will be waiting to hear from you once the money has been sent to my shipper. Thanks for the business.

29 Feb 2012 01:49p.m.

Cath wrote:

I have received the same email today from a Bret Quinby.

"Hello.

I'm satisfied with the condition, I'm ready to buy this car and will be paying you through PayPal (www.paypal.com) which is a fast, safe and reliable method of payment and i will be paying the paypal charges too.. Please tell me your bottom dollar so that we can discuss further about the payment

Please Advise."

22 Feb 2012 11:35a.m.

Rav wrote:

I just received the same deal last weekend,I also had a car on trademe,a woman named Angela Tikiri contacted me,explaining that she is, in PNG training army recruits and can't deal in person, they will buy the car,they have transfered the money and will be released once I pay $900 shipping fee,and the car was going to Malaysia. Just found out yesterday was a scam and reported them. The cons still operating, BEWARE!!Also googled the shipping company, there were no such companies or shipment agents.They are very convincing and smart, use PayPal to send fake emails.They will forward something like: "You have received a PayPal Instant Payment of $4,200.00 NZD from Angela Tekiri (kiwigela@gmail.com) TRANSACTION STATUS : TEMPORARY ON HOLD As mentioned in the receipt of Payment and as per PayPal Merchandise Payment policy, we have fully debited the total amount (above) from the buyer's account which includes the Transport/Delivery Charges by Asped Logistics. You would have to Pay the Shipping Charges to the Transport Company through Bank Transfer, In order to complete this transaction and get the whole funds Released into your account. So therefore, we advice you to Proceed with the transfer of the excess sum $900.00 NZD to the Transport Agent and send us a Copy/Photograph of the Bank Transfer Receipt.