Hansen: Thomson didn't stomp
Mon, 12 Nov 2012 10:32a.m.
Coach Steve Hansen has leapt to the defence of flanker Adam Thomson, whose place on the All Blacks tour of Europe is in doubt following an unsavoury incident during the Test defeat of Scotland at Murrayfield.
Thomson's foot made contact with the exposed head of Scotland flanker Alasdair Strokosch in the 45th minute of New Zealand's 51-22 win on Monday morning (NZT).
The 30-year-old was sent to the sinbin by French referee Jerome Garces on the advice of Irish touch judge Simon McDowell.
Hansen anticipated the incident would be reviewed and hoped Thomson's intent would be considered.
"I don't think it was a stomping personally but it's not for me to decide," Hansen tells journalists.
"Someone will look at the game and make a decision whether what he did had malicious intent or whether it was reckless. I'd suggest it will probably be reckless.
"It looked like he got frustrated because someone was lying on the ball and he placed his foot on the guy's head. He didn't stomp him, which was one good thing."
Scotland coach Andy Robinson responded in the affirmative when asked if a boot to the head should result in a red card.
However, Strokosch says he was happy with the sanction imposed.
"It certainly wasn't malicious. There was no damage done. He barely grazed it," the Scotland No.6 says.
"I would say the yellow card's fine. I wouldn't take it any further. It wasn't a big deal."
While Thomson's availability for the remaining three Tests of the tour is in doubt, it is also unclear where he will play his rugby next year.
The 29-Test Otago loose forward hasn't signed a Super Rugby contract for 2013 but he is also yet to secure an offshore deal.
Watch the video to see the incident.
Post a Comment
Before commenting, please take the time to read our moderation guide
(Won't be published)
12/11/2012 7:09:10 p.m.
Hansen must think we are blind and stupid. The TV replay shows that the incident was a deliberate and controlled stomp to the head. No weasel words or obfuscation from the All Blacks or the Scottish camp will change what amounted to clear intent by Thomson to push his boot down on the head of a Scottish player on the ground. Hansen needs to get spectacles
12/11/2012 4:12:40 p.m.
Robbie M Riddet wrote:
in terms of adapted 'new laws'- it was a stomp to HEAD player will be cautioned for offence
After starting the season as favourites for the wooden spoon...
Zinedine Zidane and Michael Ballack appeared at a sponsorshi...
The Brumbies overcame dreadful weather and a two-match losin...
New Zealand's Paralympic swimming team are busy preparing fo...
The Southern Steel hope to continue their four-game roll in ...
Copyright © 2013 MediaWorks TV. All Rights Reserved.