° °
  • Firstline - TV3 New Zealand


    Weekdays 6am

  • 3 News - TV3 New Zealand

    3 News

    Nightly 6pm

  • Campbell Live - TV3 New Zealand

    Campbell Live

    Weekdays 7pm

  • 3rd Degree - TV3 New Zealand

    3rd Degree

    Wednesdays 8.30pm

  • The Paul Henry Show - TV3 New Zealand

    Paul Henry

    Starts 7th April

  • Three 60 - TV3 New Zealand

    Three 60

    Sundays 9.30am

  • The Nation - TV3 New Zealand

    The Nation

    Sat 9:30am / Sun 10am

Argo wins Producers Guild Awards

Monday 28 Jan 2013 11:44 a.m.

Ben Affleck (Reuters)

Ben Affleck (Reuters)

Argo continues to shake up the Oscar race by taking the top honour at the Producers Guild Awards on Saturday.

Ben Affleck, coming off winning Golden Globe Awards for best motion picture drama and director for the real-life drama, received the award handed out at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

"I'd be remiss if I didn't mention that I'm still working as an actor," he said in his acceptance speech.

Affleck also stars in Argo as the CIA operative who orchestrated a daring rescue of six American embassy employees during the 1979 Iranian hostage crisis. George Clooney and Grant Heslov share the producer award with Affleck as Argo beat out the Civil War saga Lincoln, which has a leading 12 Academy Awards nominations.

Other nominees in the PGA movie category were Les Miserables, Zero Dark Thirty, Beasts of the Southern Wild, Django Unchained, Life of Pi, Moonrise Kingdom, Silver Linings Playbook, and Skyfall.

Along with honours from other Hollywood professional groups such as actors, directors and writers guilds, the producer prizes have become part of the preseason sorting out contenders for Academy Awards.

The big winner often goes on to claim the best-picture honour at the Oscars on Feb. 24.

Disney's Wreck-It Ralph won the guild's animation category, beating Brave, Frankenweenie, ParaNorman and Rise of the Guardians.

Searching for Sugar Man took the documentary prize, beating A People Uncounted, The Gatekeepers, The Island President, and The Other Dream Team.

Showtime's Homeland won the producer's award for television drama series, which beat out Breaking Bad, Downton Abbey, Game of Thrones, and Mad Men.

The ABC sitcom Modern Family took the prize for best comedy series for the third straight year, beating 30 Rock, The Big Bang Theory, Curb Your Enthusiasm, and Louie.


Others Are Watching

comments powered by Disqus